Particular, Importunate, Submissive, Endeavoring, Constant and Effectual Prayer

Uncategorized

From A Scriptural Exposition of the Baptist Catechism by Benjamin Beddome, published in 1752.

Must our prayers be particular?

Yes.  I would order my cause before him, Job 23:4.

And importunate?

Yes.  I will not let thee go except thou bless me, Genesis 32:26

And submissive?

Yes.  Not as I will but as thou wilt, Matthew 26:39.

And joined with suitable endeavors?

Yes.  Wherefore criest thou unto me? speak unto the children of Israel, that they may go forward, Exodus 14:15.

And constant?

Yes.  Pray without ceasing, 1 Thessalonians 5:17.

And are such prayers likely to be effectual?

Yes.  For God will fulfill the desire of them that fear him, Psalm 145:19.

Amen.  That’s what I was arguing for in this post.

Get the book here.

(By: Nicolas Alford)

One thought on “Particular, Importunate, Submissive, Endeavoring, Constant and Effectual Prayer

Leave a Reply

